Derrick Harvey

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Derrick Harvey

I've become pretty intrigued with Derrick Harvey as a 1st rd pick lately. I know Scott does not have a scouting report up yet and have read some others and he seems to be the ideal RE for a cover 2, but I have very little experience in watching him play. I know he only has 2 years of very good production, but what intrigues the most is he only started to play football his junior year in highschool according to one report I read. I just figure getting him into an NFL program to gain some strength and hopefully retain his speed. Then have him get coached up so he can learn better technique. Because plain and simple Harvey can get at the QB and that is definitely what the Lions need.

eh.... good for you?

Sig by Fenikz

I remember NFLDC
    don't tell anyone, but Charlie Casserly is a dope fiend

Comment

Strengths:

Overall, he's a better prospect than Jarvis Moss (who was selected in the first round by Denver in 2007). He can play the 4-3 rush end or even bulk up to play the 3-4 end (he has the frame to handle it). He has a good first step and can quickly gain the edge agaisnt the tackles. He can drop his shoulder to turn the corner and get to the QB. He has an impressive wingspan and can still be disruptive even when he's unable to get to the QB. As a run defender, he's not particularly stout at the LOS, but he shows good ability to track the RB down the line and has good pursuit skills.

Weaknesses

Like most players coming out of college, he'll need to continue to add functional strength for the next level. He'll need to be stronger at the point of attack against the run. He has trouble disengaging from blocks once he's tied up. While he's quick, he lacks the elite explosiveness that Jarvis Moss possessed at Florida. He's gotten by with speed and athleticism at Florida, but in the NFL he'll need to develop some more pass-rush moves and learn to use his hands better.

Comment