Draft Countdown Forums

Go Back   Draft Countdown Forums > The Locker Room > Off Topic

Off Topic Almost Anything Goes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2009, 08:23 PM    (permalink
nobodyinparticular
Hall of Famer
Legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not Oakland, CA
Posts: 21,297
Reputation: 2529147
nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default Cleaning the crap off a new PC

I just bought a new laptop and just like any other laptop, it came with a bunch of crap on it--"shovelware" as I like to call it. I am fairly tech savvy when it comes to PCs, so I know all the easy ways to get rid of this stuff. The problem is that the easiest way--installing a clean version of Windows--doesn't seem to be an option as I was not given a Windows disk and I can't find any Vista torrents that I feel are fully trustworthy. I've uninstalled through "Add/Remove Programs" all that I can, but now there is the difficulty of dealing with all the crap buried in the registry.

Can you guys help me? Either walk me through dealing with the registry or point me to a trustworthy torrent for Vista Home Premium. The Windows license is for and OEM version of course, and I don't know if it matters that it's a Toshiba. When I DLed a torrent for my wife's version of Windows XP in order to reformat the HDD, I had to make sure that I got the Dell version of Windows XP OEM.

Oh yeah, it's x86 (32-bit).
__________________

Oldie but a goodie.
nobodyinparticular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:55 PM    (permalink
Brent
TomTom Out
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26,025
Reputation: 4829675
Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Brent is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

they didnt give you a recovery disk? if not, check manufacturer site for one.
__________________

Pick the Winners Champion 2008 | 2011
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:16 PM    (permalink
Stash
Pro Bowler
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,859
Reputation: 679977
Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Theoretically they should send you one if you ask, that's what I did with my old Dell POS.
Stash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:19 PM    (permalink
nobodyinparticular
Hall of Famer
Legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not Oakland, CA
Posts: 21,297
Reputation: 2529147
nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stash View Post
Theoretically they should send you one if you ask, that's what I did with my old Dell POS.
For real? Alright! I will do that. How did you contact Dell for the disk?
__________________

Oldie but a goodie.
nobodyinparticular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:21 PM    (permalink
crites09
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 898
Reputation: 3728
crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobodyinparticular View Post
For real? Alright! I will do that. How did you contact Dell for the disk?
Its a toshiba right? There should be a program called.. Toshiba Recovery CD or something in the program list

Also I have copy of vista thats good. The right version as well
crites09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:28 PM    (permalink
djp
Team Leader
Icon
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 16,253
Reputation: 536251
djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.djp is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

ASUS did that to me on my laptop. They gave me a recovery disk but when I recovered, it just re-installed all the old software that came with it.
__________________
"Compadres, it is imperative that we crush the freedom fighters before the start of the rainy season. And remember, a shiny new donkey for whomever brings me the head of Colonel Montoya."
djp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:31 PM    (permalink
nobodyinparticular
Hall of Famer
Legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not Oakland, CA
Posts: 21,297
Reputation: 2529147
nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crites09 View Post
Its a toshiba right? There should be a program called.. Toshiba Recovery CD or something in the program list

Also I have copy of vista thats good. The right version as well
Yeah, I have that program, but that would copy everything--including the shovelware--onto the recovery disk. It would be running in place.
__________________

Oldie but a goodie.
nobodyinparticular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:38 PM    (permalink
Stash
Pro Bowler
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,859
Reputation: 679977
Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Stash is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobodyinparticular View Post
For real? Alright! I will do that. How did you contact Dell for the disk?
I contacted customer service through their website. My PC didn't come with a disk either, it had some other recovery feature but I didn't want to use that. I actually wanted a disk so I could install it on another PC (I don't even know if that's possible with Dell stuff but that's beside the point), so I lied to them and told them I needed a disk to re-install the OS because they never gave me one. So they gave me the "replacement recovery media" and it came with notification that it I'm supposed to return it afterwards. I never did, that was 6-8 months ago.

Last edited by Stash : 08-11-2009 at 09:41 PM.
Stash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:24 PM    (permalink
ImBrotherCain
Moderator
All-NFLDC
 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 11,728
Reputation: 3133441
ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

I work for Best Buy in the computers.

Even if you remove everything and then create the recovery disk it will restore it to factory settings... Honestly the only way to do it is go though the Registry and remove it that way

I personally dont know how to do it but i know Geek Squad offers a service and will do it plus some other stuff for 40$
__________________
ImBrotherCain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:33 PM    (permalink
nobodyinparticular
Hall of Famer
Legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not Oakland, CA
Posts: 21,297
Reputation: 2529147
nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nobodyinparticular is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImBrotherCain View Post
I work for Best Buy in the computers.

Even if you remove everything and then create the recovery disk it will restore it to factory settings... Honestly the only way to do it is go though the Registry and remove it that way

I personally dont know how to do it but i know Geek Squad offers a service and will do it plus some other stuff for 40$
Which is ridiculous. That's why I want a Windows Vista .iso file to just entirely re-format my HDD.
__________________

Oldie but a goodie.
nobodyinparticular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:46 PM    (permalink
bwillie26
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 1860
bwillie26 could make a wolverine purr.bwillie26 could make a wolverine purr.bwillie26 could make a wolverine purr.bwillie26 could make a wolverine purr.bwillie26 could make a wolverine purr.bwillie26 could make a wolverine purr.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImBrotherCain View Post
I work for Best Buy in the computers.

Even if you remove everything and then create the recovery disk it will restore it to factory settings... Honestly the only way to do it is go though the Registry and remove it that way

I personally dont know how to do it but i know Geek Squad offers a service and will do it plus some other stuff for 40$
Not true. My recovery disk will only restore basic and bare minimum settings. Mine is also a Dell.
__________________
bwillie26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:24 PM    (permalink
ImBrotherCain
Moderator
All-NFLDC
 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 11,728
Reputation: 3133441
ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.ImBrotherCain is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobodyinparticular View Post
Which is ridiculous. That's why I want a Windows Vista .iso file to just entirely re-format my HDD.
Well the other stuff they do is worth it... they also do about 300 little tweaks to make it quicker

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillie26 View Post
Not true. My recovery disk will only restore basic and bare minimum settings. Mine is also a Dell.
Idk what to tell you... thats what ours does. Not everything is the same
__________________
ImBrotherCain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:45 PM    (permalink
crites09
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 898
Reputation: 3728
crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.crites09 is so money.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobodyinparticular View Post
Which is ridiculous. That's why I want a Windows Vista .iso file to just entirely re-format my HDD.
You have home basic right?

NVM sh*tty.. I have a ISO for Home Basic

Last edited by crites09 : 08-11-2009 at 11:53 PM.
crites09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 11:47 PM    (permalink
Saints 4 Lyfe
Veteran
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LSU Tigers
Posts: 1,406
Reputation: 15397
Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.Saints 4 Lyfe is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobodyinparticular View Post
Which is ridiculous. That's why I want a Windows Vista .iso file to just entirely re-format my HDD.
mine came with a image already. all i had to do was go to F10 and reformat from there.
Saints 4 Lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 01:47 AM    (permalink
thefalconer
Pro Bowler
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: deep inside elmo
Posts: 3,819
Reputation: 975867
thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.thefalconer is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

i want windows 7. can anyone help me with this?
thefalconer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 02:26 AM    (permalink
niel89
SuperBowl Prop Bet Winner
All-Pro
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 2nd deck at Stanford Stadium
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 1846034
niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.niel89 is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

This is what I use and it seems to do a good job of clearing things off

http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_..._download.html
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Wright View Post
Don't be a stranger. Jordyzzzz would want you to stick around. ;o)

Touch Fuzzy, Get Dizzy
niel89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 02:29 PM    (permalink
nrk
Pro Bowler
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 3,355
Reputation: 311721
nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.nrk is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

I suggest giving Windows 7 a try. I'm really liking it better than Vista.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefalconer View Post
i want windows 7. can anyone help me with this?
I can probably help you.
__________________

Sig by Hitman D.
nrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 05:26 PM    (permalink
yourfavestoner
#1 Vickscuser
All-NFLDC
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: LakerLand
Posts: 13,130
Reputation: 628697
yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.yourfavestoner is kind of a big deal around here, people know him.
Default

Install and run Mac Leopard on it.
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/10/20/macosx_on_a_pc/
yourfavestoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.